Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
WSeaWelder
    Wed Apr 18, 2018 1:26 pm

I'm a relatively new welder working on a little table frame using 1.5" tubing (0.12" thickness). I'm running into an issue where sometimes I'm getting holes in my welds and I have no idea why:
IMG_20180704_083513785.jpg
IMG_20180704_083513785.jpg (39.71 KiB) Viewed 2427 times
IMG_20180704_083545907.jpg
IMG_20180704_083545907.jpg (38.08 KiB) Viewed 2427 times
Other relevant details:
+ I'm using 3/32 7018 electrodes that I do not store in an oven but...
+ When using the same electrodes on 1/8 plate I have no such issues
+ Using a 200st Everlast machine set at 70amps
+ Welding in Seattle where it's around 60% humidity
+ I run a harbor freight portable ventilator when welding to extract the fumes (have tried turning it off to no avail)
+ For the joint in the images above I apply a little vertical zig zag motion (I'm not running a straight bead)

Any ideas/tips/suggestions for why this is happening and how to prevent it would be greatly appreciated!
Demented
    Sun May 06, 2018 11:51 pm

If I had to guess I'd say you're not holding a tight enough arc. Long arcing 7018 will lead to porosity quite quickly. How's your rod angle?
"Your welds should sound like bacon. If your welds smell like bacon, you're on fire." - Uncle Bumblefuck (AvE)
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

A second guess is what may lie on the back side of the tubing. Clean it inside and out.

Steve
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Yeah that looks like oil contamination from the back side.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

Judging from all the BB's you have there I'd suggest more attention to:
- keep a short arc
- rod angle, 45 degrees up and almost straight in, very little drag angle, 10 degrees max.
- try a straight bead (no weaving)