Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Clifford
    Thu Nov 07, 2019 7:19 pm

New at this and practicing. As per videos I've been watching, seems that people are running 7018 1/8 vertical at around 120 amps. I was attempting this, varying between 115- 125 amps (DC electrode +) and things just seem to be running wild. I have an old 250 amp AC/DC transformer, and just out of desperation, I backed off to 95 amps and yeah, things seemed to start coming together. Jody's right...being a beginner I was not running a tight enough arc at first, but now that I'm paying attention to that, I see hope. My question is: could the amperage adjustment on this old thing be that far off? Other procedures seem to follow conventional amperage guidelines, but even I can appreciate flat is very forgiving and probably accepts about any amperage I throw at it. The welder itself seems to operate OK in general.
Thanks,
Clifford
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

Every power source welds slightly different. Different brands of rod can weld slightly different. Every welder can have a slightly different technique. So what you see and read is a start point which you have to tweek relative to the above to find your own sweet spot. Get to know your power source with practice, it's probably a good one.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Any given welder (unless calibrated) unlikely. Will be either spot on or 10 amps off either way. Rental machines are always a gamble but we weld with them however they come. Just focus on what your seeing as you weld and what it looks like after you flip up your hood.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Clifford