Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
dhowns
    Sat Sep 03, 2011 2:19 pm

My welding teacher is a MASTER of his art. In his career he's been all over North and South America welding. Welding for Nuke plants, aerospace, countless pipelines, countless structural with all processes. He is always saying how using a bigger rod will make you a better, faster welder. He also says the bare minimum heat he uses with 1/8 7018 is 115 amps and arc force at 40%.

At work I was given this job: Vertical up Tee joint. 4 inch wide channel. 3/16 inch thick.

Now I KNEW I could have welded this EASILY, making it look very nice, even, flat profile. All I had to do was use 3/32, 85 amps, arc force on 50%. But I always look to improve my skills as a welder. So I figure, I've got some good stick welding experience now, I'm pretty good at making a quality weld, and now maybe it's time to become good AND fast.

So going by what my teacher says, I thought I'd try 1/8 rod. I knew from experience before even striking an arc, that it was going to be HOT and very hard to handle.

115 amps. Arc force 40%.

About an inch up the joint I could see the undercut starting to dig in pretty far, and about 3 inches up I blew through one of the channels (the one that was butted up against the other) I pretty much knew it was going to happen as I was welding it. Either that or it would have looked like crap because I would have had to compensate by weaving it wider and wider as it got near the top, possibly causing some big grapes to freeze on top of the bead of the weld also (we all know what that's like).

There were a couple joints like this I had to weld. So I repaired the hole, and did the rest of all the joints my way, with 3/32 rod, and they all came out beautiful.

I know a few things I could have done to make 1/8 a bit easier to handle on such a joint:
1-pause longer on the channel with more heatsink, less on the one I burned through
2-weave wider from the start