Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
agdodge4x4
    Sun Feb 02, 2020 6:08 pm

I'm brand new to this, but I consider myself well above average in ability. I'm having an absolute beast of a time trying to get my AC225-S to strike an arc. I spent the better part of last night reading and watching videos so I could implement them today. This morning I spent about 4 hours and managed to squeak out about 12" worth of really spotty crappy welds. I spent lunch watching more videos and verifying that my technique it right. It is. I've tried striking the match and just tapping. No matter which one I go, the rod STICKS. IMMEDIATELY. There is no dragging it. When the welder is off, I can accomplish the distance with my eyes closed now. But with the welder on...it sticks...every single time...immediately regardless of which technique I use.

I am welding on clean 1/8" steel, 6011 rods. I've tried 1/8" and 3/32, 75A-120A or so and everywhere my machine will go in between. Absolutely no difference whatsoever. Same exact result. Even if you drag it across the work piece in a 12" line it will grab and stick....I would have though with 125A the arc would just kind of appear when I got close...but it doesnt...and I can't get it to do much more than spark and stick.

I know there is a practice required here, but i would have guessed after an entire day of trying that a suitable arc would have been struck by now. I'm completely lost and frustrated.
agdodge4x4

I went ahead and cleaned my work pieces like crazy just to make certain everything was clean. I'm down to bare metal now. The arc just won't start. I have two machines, so I went ahead and fired up the other one just in case the one I was using was dead. Anyway, same result. So...back to completely baffled. I tried again today for about an hour. Never got the arc to really take off. Sticks.