Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
silentneko
    Sat Aug 24, 2013 6:01 pm

I'm really new to this and I'm trying to work out a problem. I got the welding set up (Everlast PowerTig 185) in part to finish a project on my trailer. I need to weld thin washers onto the sides of a 2x3x1/8". I'm not having much success on my practice piece. Everything I do seems to melt the washer most times before I can run a good bead.

I've played with various amps for the sticks I have. 1/16" 6013, 3/32" 6013, 3/32" 6011, and 3/32" 7018.

What am I doing wrong here guys? I can tack it down ok, but can't seem to run a clean bead. It doesn't have to be super clean as it will be ground flush.
silentneko

20200207_144633.jpg
20200207_144633.jpg (58.06 KiB) Viewed 5591 times
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Without seeing you attempt to weld it, I'd say you are using one or more of the following: incorrect amperage, incorrect electrode diameter, incorrect electrode angle, incorrect arc length, incorrect travel speed, incorrect electrode manipulation.

Let's start with you telling us which actual electrode you did use, and the amperage you used for it? Just giving a list of what's in your toolbox doesn't say much. It almost looks as if you tried to use every single one of those rods on a different washer. But for the most part, too large of a rod resulting in too much heat in combination with one of the aforementioned items in the first paragraph.

I hope that picture is not from the final part, because in that case, our advice won't mean much.
Last edited by Oscar on Fri Feb 07, 2020 5:39 pm, edited 1 time in total.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

thin stuff is always difficult.
use the 1/16 6013. run it electrode negative. you will probably find cutting the electrodes in half will help reduce the shakes.