Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
JDP
  • JDP
    Thu Sep 29, 2011 11:27 pm

I am relatively new to this trade in comparison to many. Been welding for four years now. I have a rig together and have been doing any and all kinds of work I could get my hands on during high school and now I am currently getting an Associates degree for welding technology. Being young has definite disadvantages when scoring a job in a skilled trade like welding. Many employers don't want to give you a chance because "we" are the generation that "knows everything". For everyone who is young or even just new to the trade, Do not be discouraged. Be HUMBLE! Humility will bring oppurtunities for feedback and advancement. If you don't know how to do something, ASK. Dont pretend you know how, if you really don't. Your lies will find you out. I am not at all saying you should not Be confident in your own abilities and have pride in your work. Strive to make every cut and weld a little bit better than the last one. All in all, be honest, be humble and never act like you know it all. Success will follow. Besides being humble does not prevent you from being capable of outwelding the guy running his mouth. In fact, I would say it increases your odds.
Food for thought...... How can you learn anything if you know it all?????
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi there,

Wow, that's a great little spiel. I reckon the points that you mentioned are absolutely the most important traits to poses. I don't give a damn if a person can't do something, if they are willing to learn and have a good attitude, I have the time to help them. You would get a run in my shed. (If i had one, lol :D )

On the other hand, young cocky punks who smart mouth people who try to help them make me want to throw them off a building.

Keep up the great attitude and you'll get your chance.

Kind Regards
Mick
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm