Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Solmyr999
    Tue May 05, 2020 2:37 pm

Hello everyone, first time posting on this forum,

I weld for a hobby and learned by myself. I am still a beginner and my welds are ugly, but I want to understand why !
I use standard 2 mm steel welding rods and weld at about 90 A.
I don't understand why I keep getting weld beads that accumulate only on one of the two parts, or weld beads with flux stuck right in the middle of it, it drives me mad. I joined a picture of these typical welds I make.

What is the main factor that causes these welds ? Poor ground clamp contact, weave movement/straight movement, travel speed too fast, parts not clean enough ?

Thank you very much in advance for your answers and your time.
Attachments
ugly weld
ugly weld
20200505_200516.jpg (35.24 KiB) Viewed 3235 times
JustSteve
    Mon May 04, 2020 11:52 am

That looks like a pretty big gap.

How thick is that metal? What rod are you using? 7018, 6013? AC or DC?

The smaller the rod, the harder it is to weld with, especially if you're trying to fill a gap. If that metal is at least 3mm, get some 3mm rod. 7018, 7014 or maybe even 6013.

Take a piece of steel and run a bead on the surface. Practice a few beads to get a feel for it. That'll let you tweak your heat, and your technique.

Then set up a couple of joints with no gap. You should find the larger rod way easier to use.

3mm rod can be used on metal 3mm or thicker.

There are guys on this board that can take small rod and weld great with it. They can even weld sheet metal with stick. Get some practice with larger rod.

Good luck,
Steve
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Gap is your biggest enemy.

As JustSteve said, what rod are you using? 90A seems pretty high for a 2mm rod if the steel is relatively thin. You need to fill us in on ALL the details.
Solmyr999

Hello, thanks a lot for your answers,