Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Mvtepixels
    Fri May 08, 2020 8:33 am

Hi, i'm an hobbyist welder, i'v been welding with a 30 years old buzz box for the last months, it's heavy and kind of tricky to weld with it, so i bought an inverter ( Nutool 140 AMPS), it burns rods like butter, when welding normal steel it works very well, but with stainless steel it's a different story, when i weld stainless steel the slag is very hard to come off, with the old buzz box the slag comes off without even touch it, with the new inverter i have to hamer the welds very hard and the slag still not come off tottaly. Does anyone know why it hapens ?
The old buzz box welds at 50 volts AC and the inverter welds at 70 volts DC, is it the cause ?
I did a test with both machines on the same conditions on a 2mm sheet metal and took this picture:

Rods:

Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

SS stick weld slag is notorious for coming off hard. Biggest thing is let cool and it will start to pop off all on its own, it’s designed to work like that. Until the weld is cool enough you will just fight it, if you tried to get it off when it was still hot then it usually looks like your pictures, and it almost makes it stick on there even worse. Maybe that’s just me.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

try dropping your amps a bit.
AC is a bit cooler than DC.
tweak it until it breaks
Mvtepixels

Poland308 wrote:SS stick weld slag is notorious for coming off hard. Biggest thing is let cool and it will start to pop off all on its own, it’s designed to work like that. Until the weld is cool enough you will just fight it, if you tried to get it off when it was still hot then it usually looks like your pictures, and it almost makes it stick on there even worse. Maybe that’s just me.