Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
hossesdad
    Mon Jun 15, 2020 6:29 pm

Hi and hello. I am new to this forum but have watched many WTAT videos. Grateful to Jodie for a lot of good sense.

I am looking at building a half ton crane for a new workshop. They cost a fortune here in NZ...the only second hand 500kg jib crane I can see out there is 15K NZ. Using Gorbel, McMaster Carr and Godwin websites I worked out what is preferable, then found suitable plans on Gizmo Plans for two and five ton jib cranes, with the beam, column and foundation specs for intermediate and smaller cranes (the plans were about $30 USD, if I recollect. The design specs are very similar to the large manufacturers published info, the beam and column, base and foundation sizes all match).

I am a self taught stick welder. I have bought the steel. The jib crane base is 3/8ths steel (36" circular bolted with six 1.25"x 3' j- bolts to a 5'x5'x4' foundation), with six 20" gussets, the column is 10" Sch 40, so about 3/8ths too (if I am slightly out, sorry, we are metric here). I have been thinking to weld the pipe to the base with a bevel of 30 degrees and a 1/16th land and a 1/8th gap using 3/32nd 7016 (2.5mm that is) root pass and 7018 over the top. And I have seen Jodies and Andrews video on 7016 root pass and run a box of rods in practice, on practice pieces cut from surplus pipe. It's working out. (Incidentally, I cannot easily get 6010 locally, it isn't much used)

But my question for anyones opinion is, (leaving liabilities and legalities aside), how are things like this usually welded, cpj or fillet? The only one I have seen seems to be fillet welded. Should I just forget the bevel on the pipe and the open root and instead make a tee joint fillet weld with multiple passes to join the pipe to the base, Which is a better choice in this application, do you guess, cpj or fillet, given the welding will be average?