Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
iamkl00t
    Wed Jul 01, 2020 1:38 pm

Hi all, I am new to welding and have just bought a Starweld 190 off a friend. There's no manual and I can't find anything online for it. Can anyone advise how I might find settings to use?
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

From the pictures I easily found on Google Images, it looks like a pretty simple stick welder.
  1. Hook up the work clamp to the black terminal.
  2. Hook up the stick stinger to one of the red terminals (it appears to have a high-voltage DCEP terminal labled 70V, presumably for cellulosic electrodes like E6010 or E6011)
  3. Turn it on to 240V (after having supplied 240V to it)
  4. Turn the main knob in the middle to adjust your amperage based on rod diameter, and to a certain extent base material thickness until you obtain the necessary puddle size/characteristics.
iamkl00t

Thank you very much for taking the time to reply. It was the rod diameter vs amperage chart I was missing... is there a generic formula I could follow or are they specific to each?

Yup, lots of charts on Google Images. That's where I found mine. There is very little conflicting information about that sort of thing.
TraditionalToolworks
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:49 am

There are indeed a lot of charts on the Internet, but something to keep in mind is that most all welders are just slightly different in how they handle specific electrodes, and you'll need to fine tune that for your specific welder.

Quite a bit of difference in some stick welders, so just keep that in mind.

In general 1 amp per .001 is a good estimate and in the case of stick welding it's based on the actual size of electrode.

60 amps for a 1/16" electrode, 90 amps for a 3/32" electrode and 125 amps for 1/8" electrode is a good ball park guesstimate.
Collector of old Iron!

Alan