Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
IndyChops
    Fri Jul 24, 2020 11:04 pm

To begin, I'm a hobbyist welder.

To keep myself from going nuts with all this quarantine nonsense one of the things I do is go out to the garage each evening and lay down some practice beads. I run 4 rods of 7018 and then do about a dozen beads using the MIG (Lincoln MP 210).

MIG is not a big problem and looking through my helmet I see the glowing red bead, like I'm squeezing molten metal out of a pastry bag. Very easy to judge speed, etc....

However, when doing the stick I do not see the bead, just the burning tip of the stick. My beads are all over the place and not very uniform. Is there something I'm missing or is this just something I have to get use to?
v5cvbb
    Fri May 01, 2020 11:35 pm

Try looking right behind the arc, not at the arc. You want to focus your attention on the weld pool, the molten metal.

If you can't see the weld pool because of the swirling mess of slag, then read up on drag angle and finding the right amperage for the size 7018 you are running.

Good luck!
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

IndyChops wrote:. I run 4 rods of 7018 .....
What diameter rod are you using and what amperage are you using?
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

I always find the MIG arc to be brighter than a stick arc. Try turning your helmet shade down a bit when stick welding.
Multimatic 255
sbaker56
    Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:12 am

What shade and also what brand of 7018 are you running? 7018 should have a very distinct easy to read puddle following behind the arc, but some kinds like 7018AC don't. Also your arc length may be hiding the puddle if you're not holding a close enough arc.
IndyChops

@sbaker56: Lincoln, but just picked those up at Home Depot when I ran through all my Hobart. Usually, I can manipulate the rod a bit "by feel", I can feel the rod come in contact with the steel.

@Louie1961 turned it from 10.5 to 9, helps a bit, but not much