Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
    Sun Nov 22, 2020 6:40 pm

Hi, i'm a very beginner welder, iv'e been learning with a 100 amp ac machine that my brother save from the trash, i fixed it and is working good but i think the arc is prety temperamental and i'm having troubles welding 16 gauge wall tube, anyway, someone sugested me that i may need an dc machine for better control of the arc and i've been looking for a miller thunderbolt, i think i found one, is at a very good price but the previous owner did something to the case that i'm not sure if is a common mod to this machines or something else is going on, is like an extension of the cage, is far from me, arround 6 hours so i want some opinion to know if the drive worth it, i leave a link from the marketplace and some images, hope someone can help

https://www.facebook.com/marketplace/it ... 870556902/
Attachments
Captura.JPG
Captura.JPG (67.68 KiB) Viewed 2111 times
Last edited by flyingpeter28 on Sun Nov 22, 2020 9:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Very few things are worth a 6 hour drive. Especially for a stick welder. Keep looking within 25 miles of your location, you'll find something.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Ditto. Don't waste your time saving trash or buying trash that cannot be salvaged or that it will take your 4 months of research and work just to make it work. You're better off working more hours at your job to just make more money and buy something that you can actually use when you get it and not fight with it.