Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
burnttoast
    Fri Sep 23, 2016 9:28 am

Hello all ,I'm just a hobby welder. a couple of days ago, welded some angle iron to a brake rotor. took a hammer to it, and it separated. used 6011 electrodes and the temp. in the garage was at 32 degrees. any ideas? here's a pic.
Attachments
IMG_0180 (2).JPG
IMG_0180 (2).JPG (78.95 KiB) Viewed 2312 times
BugHunter
    Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:54 pm

The brake rotor is not a readily weldable metal.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

BugHunter wrote:The brake rotor is not a readily weldable metal.
I agree. Welding a metal that is not intended to be welded, in a cold temperature, with what is very likely very little amperage on a very likely very small welder that is not giving the amperage it says it is. Any combination of the above. More information is needed.
Last edited by Oscar on Sun Dec 13, 2020 11:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
BugHunter
    Sun Apr 19, 2020 12:54 pm

:lol: that was pretty succinct.

To the op, there may or may not be some specialty process Rod's that you could use that might work on what you're trying to do but for the most part you just can't weld to that brake rotor. Truth is, I'm a little surprised you needed to take a hammer to it.

Not all metals are weldable and even for those that are, joining two dissimilar metals is not always easy. Might not be hard but there's generally more to it than just grab the welder and a rod. If you could get the rotor hot enough to flow some brazing rod on, meaning to Tin the surface with it, you might be able to braze the angle to it then. They do make some rods for cast. If you're dead set on trying it you might stop at your local welding store and see if they have such a thing on the Shelf. And I say this assuming that the thing you are trying to make is going to be a bird feed hanger or something you're not going to swing your mother out over the Grand Canyon on.

There I reduced my succinctness :lol: