Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Brettroberts321
    Fri Nov 13, 2020 11:53 am

Hello All -

Noob here, working on getting a miller 330 A/BP up and running (bought it in an auction for $60). Got it home, cleaned off connections, wired it up and plugged it in. Nothing kicked on. Did some troubleshooting and replaced the F2 fuse per the manual, and bam, machine and fan kicked on.

My first thought before I dive into the TIG journey is to make sure the sticking welding functionality is working properly. I bought a new stinger and ground clamp and hooked it all up. Odd thing is that when I put it in DCEP (Reverse Polarity), no welding output (testing with E6013 1/8" electrode, in the 20-250 range). Put it in, DCEN (Straight Polarity) and bang was immediately able to strike an arc. Talked to a friend and he told me to use a multi meter to test the output on the "Work" and "Electrode" studs. When testing the studs in DCEN, I was getting around 20.2 volts across. For DCEP, I was only getting .015 volts.

My question then brings me to, where do I go next test why the DCEP is not working? Looking at the functional diagram (page 12), would I need to be testing the Main Rectifier (SR1)? I see that on OM-340 Page 4, it lists the diodes and caps for the rectifier that could be troubleshooted? Should I be testing/cleaning the Contact Board, switch - polarity (S10)? I am having fun with this journey and learning the process of electrical troubleshooting so sorry if any of these are super basic questions haha. Any help is much appreciated.

Here is the manual I am working off of:
https://www.millerwelds.com/files/owner ... 0H_MIL.pdf
Attachments
Welder 2.jpg
Welder 2.jpg (70.45 KiB) Viewed 3545 times
Welder.jpg
Welder.jpg (92.38 KiB) Viewed 3545 times
Brettroberts321

Following up on my post: