Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
JAL1639
    Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:37 pm

I am in my 3rd semester of welding and we started pipe this semester. First was beads on pipe 5G next is beads on pipe 2G. I have some issues in 5G with transitioning to the bottom on down hill and issues on the bottom quarter of the pipe when working uphill.
What techniques can I practice or what works for you? As I have found what works for you might work for me or what works for you ends up looking like hammered guano for me.
Thanks in advance,
Jeremy
War Eagle!
romij
    Tue Sep 29, 2009 10:12 pm

If you are TIG, learn to walk the cup. If stick, get a tight fit up and smear it in evenly !!!
JAL1639

It is stick right now and I am not yet on root passes. I should be on to roots this next week.
War Eagle!
pcav
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 9:47 am

Hi Noob, You haven't given the size pipe, whether a backing ring or open butt, or type and size of welding rod.
JAL1639

For just beads on pipe, does size of pipe matter? 6" diameter
no backing or open root, I am just working on beads on pipe.
3/16" 6010
War Eagle!
rickbreezy
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:08 pm

I had the same problems in school. ussually I divide the weld into 4 qaurters in my head, and position my body to be comfortable during each different pass. really, this is the point were you have to become flexible and forget about the "perfect " position, like in your structural fillet, butt and so on welding. pay alot of attention to the position of the rod( as this affects heat and shape). try to keep the rod position the same, and this means alot bending of your body and will make you a much better , more comfortable welder. This is probably new to you onley having welded in a booth right?(unlike in a boiler, pipe rack, underneath a truck, or hanging off of a 10 story building with an I beam up your balls). We have all been there, good luck.