Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Timber Wolf
    Sat Jul 24, 2021 9:31 pm

I'm a beginning welder, and hope to get a welding job here soon. On the side I collect rods and try them because why not. I have been scouring the internet for months trying to find any legit 6020 rods in the USA that I can buy. They seem to have gone out of production. Do I NEED them? No. But I sure as heck would like to get my hands on some. I have a particular fascination in the forgotton rods. Where on earth can I get any? (None of the shitty over seas sites provide any legit proof they have them and besides, im not ordering outside the US as is.)
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

What's so special about them that makes you want them??
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

The only difference between 6010 and 6020 is the flux, 6020 is for flat work only.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Timber Wolf
    Sat Jul 24, 2021 9:31 pm

Its more so a thing of, I just want to find and try some regardless of their relevance. Im kinda a stick welding nut and like to try a bit of everything.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

i've never heard of them.
a few web sites selling fakes (they shows pics of 6011 or 6013).

6020 would be a iron powder coated 6010. i suspect it would have been replaced by 7024. i can't see iron powder being very good when mixed with cellulose that has moisture in it.
i suspect if you find any they will be in a museum and so old they won't run anyway.
tweak it until it breaks
JDM Welder
    Mon Aug 16, 2021 12:52 am