Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
LAB80
    Wed Sep 01, 2021 6:15 am

Hello there. My first post here, I am a beginner welder and am learning stick welding at the moment.

Anyway, I've watched a lot of youtube videos and always see americans using 6010 / 6011, and thought I was missing out. I finally found a 6010 supplier in New Zealand, and ordered 15kg of 2.5mm ( 3/32 ) welding rods. I have an inverter welder, with an OCV of approx 100 volts ( as measured by a voltmeter ). Yesterday I was finally able to test 6010 out, and although the inverter was able to start them up OK, the arc would randomly splutter and cut out, regardless of amperage or arc length. I have no dig / arc force or any such settings on my inverter, only amperage. Regardless, I was able to get a bit of a feel for how cellulose rods ran, which was exciting.

I half expected this to happen, as its mentioned a lot over the internet, and after watching this video here https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZGvPhJZCMvY decided to buy an old AC transformer arc welder, and put it in series with the earth lead of my inverter ( not connected to the mains, just like in the video ).

And I can now happily say that this worked! :D The 6010 electrodes start up and run without pauses, spluttering, or cutting out, even at around 25 amps, very smoothly. It even had an effect on 7016 (not tried 7018 yet), where basically 7016 seemed a lot more penetrating than previously; On 2mm sheet before adding the inductor (old arc welder transformer) I could run along at around 60 or 70 amps just fine, but with the inductor in series, it will blow through very quickly so I need to run it down at around 40 or 50 amps.

So anyone out there with an inverter, annoyed that they are having trouble running 6010/6011, I strongly suggest trying this out. I picked up the old transformer arc welder for $18, so its a cheap experiment.