Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
coo1guy
    Wed Sep 22, 2021 11:34 am

Just bought my first welder and I'm about to do my first welds, so absolute beginner here.
I went for a 160A AC stick welder.
I read as much as I could to avoid wasting anyone's time, but still have 2 things to doublecheck:

- The user manual says I can plug the clamp and electrode holder alternatively depending on the recommendations of the electrodes.
Does that mean I can use that AC device (that apparently can't do anything else than AC) for DCEP or DCEN?

- My first project will be to make a bike trailer arm out of a square bar of steel by cutting a V, fold it and weld it.
It's a 1 inch x 1 inch (2.5cm x 2.5cm) bar with 1.8mm "walls".
Which rod should I go for (number and diameter)?

Thanks
welder1.jpg
welder1.jpg (84.67 KiB) Viewed 3259 times
welder2.jpg
welder2.jpg (153.33 KiB) Viewed 3259 times
welder3.jpg
welder3.jpg (40.46 KiB) Viewed 3259 times
welder4.jpg
welder4.jpg (38.42 KiB) Viewed 3259 times
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

Technically you don't have an AC welder. Yes it has AC input, but it doesn't have AC output. Your machine outputs DC current and the polarity is selected by the way you connect the work clamp and the electrode holder. The rods I would recommend for that welder are 6011, 6013, 7018 and 7014. 6011, 6013 and 7014 are technically AC rods but they run fine on DC. 6010 is a DC rod but won't run on most inverters.
Multimatic 255
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

PS, 6013 is probably a really good rod for your application of 1.8 mm square wall tubing
Multimatic 255
Gdarc21
    Wed Aug 04, 2021 6:44 am