Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
jime46
    Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:56 am

I am a hobby welder and have a question concerning a 1/8" rod I recently used on my AC stick welder. I have been using Lincoln 6011 rods and have had reasonable results but I found a box of rods recently that had been stored for no telling how long and I gave them a try. They were the best running rod I have ever used. The weld was really smooth, there was little spatter, and the flux just peeled off in one long strip. I only had a few rods so wasn't able to do a test on penetration, so don't know how it compared with the 6011. The welds looked 200% better than anything I had ever run with the 6011. I'd like to find out what this rod was so I can see if it could be used in place of the 6011.

The box has no information about the manufacturer, but the shipping label to the retailer(Builders Square) had a return address of Century Manufacturing. The label on the box says:'These Multi-purpose electrodes are designed to meet almost any need for welding mild or tempered steel. Can be used in place of AWS 6013, 6010, 6011, or 6012. Special flux coating and wire keep spatter to a minimum. Igniter tip assures easy arc starting. Welds on AC, DC reverse polarity-can by used on DC straight polarity for cutting. Runs at 70-160 amps'.

Anyone have an idea what these might have been?
robbee
    Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:45 pm

The only rod i've ever used that the slag peels off in one big piece is a 7024 jet rod. They are preety big rods and the info i read about them said they needed to be ran between 100-150 amps. Also i've been told they're for the flat position only. they laid a wide bead and the weld looked great. this may of been what you had. i ran mine on DCEP. not sure if you can use them on AC. hope this may help
jime46
    Mon Oct 05, 2009 10:56 am