Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
JMAuto
    Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:54 pm

Hi Guys,

I am Arc welding some 1/4 mild steel here using a E6013 1/8 rod at 140 amps. When I chip off the slag, there is heavy porosity in the bead.

Bit of a newbie to old school stick welding, but having too much fun with it to quit.

What might be causing this?
    Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:48 am

HOW CLEAN IS THE STEEL? WERE THE 6013 ELECTRODES EXPOSED TO EXCESSIVE MOISTURE AT ANY TIME?
Jim
Pipefitter/Weldor out of Local 396
Millermatic 252
Dynasty 200DX
Maxstar 150 STL
Spoolmate 100
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Digital Elite
JD2 Model 32 Bender
Emerson 7120 Horizontal/Vertical Bandsaw
Oxy-Gas Torch outfit
Generac XP8000E Generator
GWD
    Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:50 pm

I'm no expert welder but doesn't 140 amps seem a little hot for the application?
JMAuto
    Fri Jan 01, 2010 7:54 pm

Alright,

Well, come to find out that the rods are a bit past their use by date. They are full of moisture. I was suspect of this when during welding, I noticed bubbles forming around the electrode just above the arc
hammerwelds
    Sun Jun 13, 2010 11:27 pm

first off take that 6013 and throw it away. i only use that shit to make small hooks out of...lol.... if your running A\C, get some 6011 and 7018AC. if your using D\C, get some 6010 and 7018 and run reverse polarity. that would be the stinger lead hooked up to the positive side. it also refered as DCEP. but them are the most common welding rods used for stick welding. the 6010 or 6011 would be for dirty steel and root passes. the 7018 is for fillers and caps on clean steel. you can also use it on fillet welds without a problem. also remember to put your rods in a hot box or at least a sealed box to keep moister out. i'm sure i will catch alot of slack for talking shit about the 6013 rod, but this is just my opinion. for what i do it serves no purpose what so ever to me.
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm