Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
qwerty12
    Sun Mar 10, 2013 4:38 pm

Hello folks. In this topic I will post my own problems with welding.
Well I am new in weldig world and lot of things seams dificult to me and I have lot of questions.

So here I will post my questions, my weld pictures and so on...

My equipment is AC arc welder Telwin Nordica 4.181 it goes from 55 to 160 amps and runs on 220V AC

So here is one simple question...

Much ofthen my weld do lok like this on picture below

Welding material from electrode deposits on both side of 2 welding metals buth there is bad fusion and almost no metal deposits in the center, the midle place where 2 metals do connect. That space is ofthen filled wiht slag...and after welding ewerything looks nice buth when I hammer the slag...there is no filler metal in the centre just on 2 sides.

How to solve this problem and why this happens?
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hey,

Im guessing you have 6012 or 6013 rods. This is a common newby problem with these rods. The way around it is to wait at the start of the weld, untill the heat builds up unough to make the weld join in the middle. A little wiggle of the rod can help in this. After a second, you should be able to see the weld.pool and slag become separate , the slag will sit back from the weld pool, and be still. If you are getting the inclusions you speak of, you will notice the slag swirling around.

Good luck Mick
GWD
    Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:50 pm

Have to agree with Mike on this one.

Plus, there could be other issues in addition to rod choice.
>amp setting
>using a DC rod
>rod size
>travel speed (how many inches of weld per rod)
>whip or weave technique (if any)
>material thickness
>material cleanliness (grind to shiny?)

If you could provide those details then it is likely that more members could drop a few hints. A photo rather than a drawing may give more clues.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm