Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
JoshuaBrown18
    Sat Jul 24, 2010 4:21 am

Hey guys,
I've been using and abusing the plethora of information contained within this site for about a month now, figured I owed it to the community at large to join and contribute. So hi.

I am currently a student at John A Logan in Cartervill IL. for an Associates of applied Sciences in Welding. I have been very successful in my class so far, this is a direct result of my unrelenting desire and need to garner information and abilities. Many a night during these classes I have found myself up far too late researching different techniques. I have to say this site rocks for deep info. Thanks for that.
I have developed a couple different ways for practicing the basics at home. I Have to have something for them long weekends when I'm deprived from my Painting with Lightning™. I would love to share these if anyone is interested.
As a result of my nerdyness for all things fusion, I got some pretty trophy welds to put on the shelf. I'm really having a blast with SMAW. There has been some rockyness but I am still way ahead of my class schedule. I'm a couple weeks into next semester.

I wanted to post a couple of my results and get some feed back from some pros.

Below is My first "successful" 6010 DCEP open root v-groove butt joint. We started trying this Wednesday afternoon I got in two hours before the end of class. I came home started researching and Thursday morning after an hour of trying I produced the weld below. Since then I have made a couple tack-to-tack clean bonds.

I'm 6 weeks into my welding career and having an absolute blast.
Attachments
My first "successful" (Top) 6010 DCEP open root v-groove butt joint. I got extra credit for making the top pretty.
My first "successful" (Top) 6010 DCEP open root v-groove butt joint. I got extra credit for making the top pretty.
133699500.jpg (39.78 KiB) Viewed 1282 times