Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
sling-it
    Sat Feb 08, 2014 1:10 am

I'm a hobby welder. Just putting things together for the fun of it.

I've inherited my grandfathers old twentieth century welder - the one with the low, med, high and cutting taps, and I think it goes up to 225 amps. It's safety green if that rings anyone's bells. To be honest, I've found very little information on the welder. Anyway, after repainting and replacing the cables with 20' of OO cable (I realize now I could have run 100 ft with that, but it's done), and to my surprise she started lighting rods up.

Anyway, I had a project and had read 7018 was a great rod, so I got some 1/8" Hobart rod in 6011, 7014, and 7018AC. I got so I could run everything but the 7018AC rods (including a couple old 6013's I had laying around). I upped the amperage from the 7014's, and proceeded to stick every 7018AC rod I touched to the work. I don't think I ever got up to the welders max power, but after having to unclamp from 3 or 4 rods, I gave up thinking I may have gotten a box of mismarked rods (may have gotten to about 180 amps or so).

Any advice here? The old welder works great, and there's no reason I shouldn't be able to use the AC rods - besides the fact that they won't strike for me. This is frustrating.
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Welcome to the forum sling-it.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

sling-it,
First welcome. I am not totally sure of the problem and hopefully someone can else can give you a good answer.
I would first ask if this is a AC or DC machine. I assume with its age it is AC.