Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
DCALLWELD
    Thu Feb 27, 2014 2:21 pm

I am a rig welder and do manly repair work to heavy equipment and structural work as of now. I am looking to get more in to the pipe side of things so to speak. I have been practicing on some 6'' shc 40 with some 6010 uphill root and 7018 uphill cap. Getting better with it, after practice. I just recently got a 7' drop of 12'' shc 40 and was going to "play" pipe line in my back yard. Now I am understanding its a down hill root using 6010 but , what is used for a cap? I am understanding its down hill as well and we have all seen the puddle pass up a 7018 down hill. I am running a miller pipe pro as well does any one have any settings in mind for that machine , also what electrode is used for the cap ? thanks
    Wed Oct 23, 2013 3:30 pm

Here's a video on 6010 downhill, he's rolling the pipe but you can see he shoves the rod in there and goes like mad.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Q-lCWc7V ... S0a3oZrDNg
7018 will be uphill as usual.
Just a couple welders and a couple of big hammers and torches.

Men in dirty jeans built this country, while men in clean suits have destroyed it.
Trump/Carson 2016-2024
DCALLWELD

Ok but I'm I'm talking about cross country pipe line and have head something to the affect that it's dun down hill for faster time . They have also said a 70's series rod or 80's rod is that a 7010 or 8010 they are talking about?

Ok, there doing it all down hill round and round.
here's a decent video
http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... HWqMC6ykEk

Men in dirty jeans built this country, while men in clean suits have destroyed it.
Trump/Carson 2016-2024

and here's the cap. http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... 2EdF9j5sNw

Hope this helps,
~John :D

Trump/Carson 2016-2024
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm