Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
hacadacalopolis
    Fri Jan 31, 2014 5:14 am

I can run the root-Sometimes great... consistency lacks, But what I cannot get around to being comfortable on is this dreadful overhead>vertical transition cap. 6010/7018 consumables

At our school we are welding 6" sch40 carbon w/ 30 degree bevel. Not a whole lot of pipe to fill, so after the root I am usually running a filler and cap combo. Do not have pics yet, I'll prob try and get some today.

I cannot find a comfortable way of being on the floor with the overhead cap 6-3, 6-9 positions. I have a 10 degree (give or take) push angle, as straight as I can get it but yet I choke out on the bottom cap. Undercut in some areas, breaking repetition, long arc, U name it.

I have recently tried hanging on the pipe support and trying to one hand it bottom up. still unsure
I could really use some advice on this position for laying a good cap.
hacadacalopolis

So once again any advice is appreciated, I'm not doing that great with stick pipe.

Start off with root, make sure you are looking at 2nd pipe weld.I did this run without feathering any tacks(was just passing time), and got some lack of sidewall fusion... But main thin was that I did not stick and have to restart, first time in about 10 tries! Good grief!

Next is cap, I veered off near top, but I felt I improved in some areas.
Have a look; starting with top

These may not be the best photos, this is iphone
I know the root may be hard to look at just bear with me.
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:13 pm

hacadacalopolis,