Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Jawon
    Thu May 29, 2014 1:11 am

Self-taught newbie... yes, insert eye rolls here. But practicing lots and reading up to educate myself.

I have the Harbor Freight 80amp inverter welder. I'd ultimately like to use it on 20 gauge sheet metal butt joints up to 1/8" tubing lap joints on my car. I am hoping to hear encouragement from those who have actually accomplished something like this, especially with this particular welder.

Most comments I see related to stick welding sheet metal, much less using this HF product, goes something like this... invest in a mig/tig, you'll just burn through, HF products suck. But every once in awhile I run across old-schoolers who seem to think otherwise and those are the ones I'm hoping to hear from... and if no one responds, well, I guess that's an answer.

I've been laying beads on 22 gauge with 1/16" and 3/32" 6013 DCEN and there seems to be some hope. I've read that 6013 was intended for thin steel so I don't get why people are poo-pooing this. I understand it may be harder than mig, but that's ok by me... I'm willing to take the time to learn. I love the simplicity of gasless and this tiny toaster. I hope to play with 6011 DCEN too since I've read those can work well, with practice of course.

So... I'd love to hear those success stories please :)
Last edited by Jawon on Thu May 29, 2014 3:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

Jawon,
I actually tig weld with that exact welder, set-up for scratch start and it does a half decent job on light angle iron. You can weld with 1/16 and 3/32 6013 fairly well but it doesn't like 7018 at all. If I had to weld sheet metal with it I would run downhill with the 6011 rod but I wouldn't be above trying 6013's either. I haven't tried to stick weld too much using it because I have other welders on hand and don't need to.