Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
zoomer
    Fri Jul 09, 2010 4:13 pm

I am a rookie welder. I am trying to weld one of the pivot points back onto my tractor's front end loader. Well actually re-welding it back on. I welded it on to the arm of the loader, but my welds were so bad I felt it necessary to grid away the first try and start again with good solid metal. I ground away so much of the first weld/metal that I now have a gap about 2"l x 1/8"w. I am happy with the alignment of the piece and the welds that are holding the piece on. There are both vertical and horizontal gaps that need fixing. I am using an old Lincoln 225 AC machine, and have tried 6011, 6012, 6013, 3/32, 1/8, 5/32 rods on quite a few practice beads and practice welds trying to figure out how to fill a gap, but I just keep burning larger holes in my welds. Any advice on how to fill a gap would be extremely appreciated. Thanks in advance, Zoomer
GWD
    Fri Feb 26, 2010 8:50 pm

I am certainly no expert but have often either burned through or had other gaps to weld shut due to poor fit-up.

The rods you are using are for penetration (except maybe 6013) and you may be running hot or with too much arc gap. Buy some 1/8" 7018 AC and try that. It doesn't burn through so easily and will build up metal since the flux deposits even more metal.

7018 AC will take a little higher setting but keep the arc short. Build up the area with stringers. Don't try to do it all in one pass. Let the metal cool before the next stringer.

OK, now you real welders out there can have at it with advice.
torn7th
    Sun May 30, 2010 12:32 am

Man this is a weird one being ive never welded AC accept aluminum TIG. You wouldnt happen to have a DC setting would you. That would make your life way easier. :?:
zoomer

GWD Thanks for the help. I'll try some 7018, and see how that turns out. I'll let You know.
zoomer

Torn7th, Thanks for the reply, but no DC switch. It is an AC welder. Zoomer
billyolds