Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Good day all.
I am new to welding would like some advise.
I have a Lincoln 225 buzz box A/C only.
I have a 50 pound box of 6011 1/8 rod.
The welder was set to 90 amps when I got it I left it there as this was the rod the last owner ran.
I need help to figure how to go about practicing.
With a full length rod I'm all over the place not able to start were I want.
Should i be starting by just running a series of dots or a series of beads.
Is there better rod to learn with?
Any and all help would be appreciated.
Thanks in advance Mike in Andover, Ohio
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm

First of all, make sure you got a decent size piece of at least 1/8" thick steel. It can be angle, flat stock, really doesnt matter.

Secondly, be sure the metal is CLEAN!!!! Cannot emphasize the clean part enough, especially with an ac arc welder. Reason being, the dirtier the metal is, the harder its going to be to start and maintain and arc. And if you cant do that, your just going to get frustrated and quit. When I mean clean, i mean take a wire wheel on a grinder and grind the metal until it is shiny and not black.

Your settings are about right for that machine. Again, at least on my machine, its get an arc started, but mines probably 15-20 years old. Be sure your ground clamp is still springy and tight so you get a good connection to your work. Thing about these machines (at least mine) is their a real bitch to weld with when you first start em up. Burn about 5 rods and they run like a champ though.