Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
nb1234
    Mon Jun 06, 2016 12:23 am

Hi folks -

(First post here from a newbie...)

As I was practicing padding beads over the weekend on my Everlast 164si (tig/stick) machine, I was deep into a session with various stick electrodes. 3/32" 7014 (Blue Demon brand) 1/8" 7018 (Lincoln Excalibur) and some 3/32" Hobart 6011 I got at a local ranch/farm supply. The 7014 and 7018 ran very well - as a beginner I could get them lit, stay lit and as long as I was holding a tight enough arc, I was getting a decent (again for a beginner) bead. No problem running a full rod from start to finish if I was paying enough attention to what I was doing.

However, the Hobart 6011 rods would just be very reluctant to start and once started, were reluctant to stay lit. I tried high amperage, low amperage and everything in between. I tried varying arc length - from practically burying the electrode out to over a 1/4" away - but still it was a struggle to keep the rods lit.

Then I read here and elsewhere that Lincoln Fleetweld 180 6011 rods are specifically meant for small AC welders and those with lower open circuit voltage (OCV). That latter bit about OCV I interpreted as "most low/moderate price inverters". So, I found that Home Depot sells Fleetweld 180, and I bought a 5# box. Sure enough, these light up, stay lit and burn well (if very fast!). Also much more tolerant of arc length variation and amperage settings.

I knew my machine isn't supposed to run 6010, but I thought any 6011 rod would be fine. I guess not. If anybody else out there is struggling with 6011 rods on their inverter machines, give the Fleetweld 180 a try.
    Fri May 27, 2016 11:00 am

If you have a port for 6010 on that welder then make sure you plug into that port....it's for 6011 too.