Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Tom94
    Mon Jun 27, 2016 10:12 pm

Total newbie here. Using 6013 on 140 amps in the video.

I just got a new AC stick welder and some 1\8 electrodes. It's supposed to run 110v and 220v. I hooked up a 110 plug since I don't have a 220 atm. I tried to practice with some scrap but, I get nothing but sparks, no arc. The electrode doesn't burn or deposit much of anything, even when I get it red hot. It just sort of zaps the metal. I must've tried 1000 times over the past few days and got nothing but sparks.

I cranked it up to 250 amps and it burns the metal a bit more, gets hotter and sometimes I can get a drop of weld on it but, it doesn't start a bead.. It's not the metal. I couldn't get an arc going on the ground clamp.

I'm thinking 110v isn't enough or I just suck. Given the amount of tries I've gave it and all the TUT videos I've seen though, I'd like to think there's more than poor skills at play here.

(Video removed)

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Link to welder : http://www.ebay.com/itm/191832561715?_t ... RK%3AMEBID
Last edited by Tom94 on Wed Jun 29, 2016 5:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Bsmith
    Wed May 25, 2016 7:38 pm

Try to lower the amps. For 75 bucks you can't expect much. Sorry.
Tom94

I've tried. I know, you get what you pay for... Think I should get a 220 plug? I'm thinking with it being so cheap, maybe it wasn't wired properly for 110. If it only has 220 wiring, I pretty sure the power from a 110 would be split in half. Is that correct?

I would just return it but, I have something that needs welding and can't really afford a better welder.
noddybrian
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 12:13 pm

Hi Tom94 welcome to the forum.