Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
labtech
    Mon Jun 27, 2016 4:53 am

Tried posting this earlier, maybe no one saw it, maybe no one had any input, but just to make sure I thought I try again.

I am very new at welding, I have been using 7018 exclusively since that's what I had to use at work (it's all they have). When time came to try and weld stuff for something other than just minor repairs at work as I got interested in learning more about it on my free time as well and do some simple hobby projects, I just stuck with the 7018's because I know them. I've wanted to experiment with 6010 for the benefits I've been told from youtube and elsewhere they have with fast freeze and blowing through rust and paint, and easier relighting than the 7018s for just tacking stuff up, but they don't really seem to sell them at all where I live, as coded work seems to prefer 7016 instead for root passes here and hobbyists are just assumed they will make due with 6013 which I don't really like that much since I can't get used to the way they run, and I I know nothing about 7016 since there are almost no articles or youtube videos about them anywhere. I've got a pack though and am anxious to burn a few sticks to see what happens.

Anyone else have any experience running 7016 and care to hand out some tips I'd love to hear how they differ from 6010 and why my part of the world seems to prefer it for open butt root passes? Are they fine for simple hobbyist builds that still need to carry some weight, like small car ramps, how easy are they to relight if you just wanna run around and put some tacks in (because thats' definitely a pain to do with 7018s) etc. Are there other rods I should be looking into? Like I said I have only ever run 7018 because that's all I've had access to.

Appreciate any tips :D
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm