Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
chabobo
    Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:50 pm

hello board. I'm pretty new in the welding scene. I mean I work around it all day but never really touch it. I've decided to get into the trade and wold like a few tips on passing a 1g cwb test. I've been practicing on my own time and during my breaks for a few weeks now. the welders at work say it looks really smooth but it's not until I bend it at the hall that I notice hair line cracks on my plate. at first it was on my square edge and my beveled edge. I recently changed my rod angle to 60 degrees so I can concentrare on the backing strip(welders advive) and it fixed the square side. but still have issues on the beveled side (hair line crack). Sorry if this has been asked before. I looked all over and didn't see anything regarding my issue. any advice would be appreciated. I'm from Canada and have a test July 29 using 7018 1/8 rod. I'll just be able to practice this week with no bend test as my hall is closed. (any advice on how to bend plates at home would be appreciated also lol.) I should of took pics as you guys would see. but I'm sure you experienced welders understand what I'm talking about.

thanks again
chris
Bandit30019
    Tue Jul 19, 2016 8:37 am

I have unlimited certs in stick are you running stringers or weaving. On test I run stringers and all most no weaving. A northern thing is to have the amps set wright.the most important pass is the root you need to burn that in good.as the rest gets hot they will fuse.
Diesel
    Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:03 pm

Turn the amps up a bit and make sure you're not leaving slag in the toes or any spots where you have to hope it'll fuse. Should be good.
Country isn't country unless it's classic.
chabobo
    Mon Jul 18, 2016 10:50 pm