Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
Jonathan
    Mon Jan 10, 2011 11:47 am

I bought a big pack of 2,5mm 6013. They start easily but Im having a hard time welding with them. I cant really see the difference between slag and puddle, and sometimes get 2 beads with slag in the middle. Or big holes filled with slag. What happens is that the slag seems to "grow" or "swell" and then the arc quits or sticks the rod. What am I doing wrong? Higher amps dont seem to help much, and it feels silly running 130amps on a 2,5mm rod... Switching polarity seems to have no effect either.

Im by no means an expert at welding but I have no problems running same size 7018 with the same machine, I finished the job with those instead. I was replacing the knife on a hydraulic log splitter, using 10mm plate. With the 7018´s I can see the puddle clearly. The welder is a combo tig/stick inverter at 200 amps. Does 140amps 100%.

Thanks in advance,
Jonathan in Sweden
kermdawg
    Tue May 25, 2010 8:16 pm

I take it your inverter only does dc? I'd pick up some 6010 or 6011 and run them.

My metric to standard conversions arent very good, but I take it 2.5 mm is 3/32 rod? If your runnin 3/32 at 130 amps, thats the start of your problem right there. 3/32 6013 should be run from about 70-90 amps. For any given size rod, 7018 will run about 15 amps hotter, approximately. So dont try to run the same amperage with 6013 as you do with your 7018.

If it was me I'd try to get some 6011 and see if you have any differance.
Signature? Who needs a F***ing signature?
Jonathan

Yeah, its DC only, and about 3/32". I increased the amps to see if it welded better, but it didnt help much. But it ran better oven 120 as opposed to under 90. The package actually says 90-110amps.

So is 6013 best run on AC then? The 7018 welded well at 110 amps. It welded lower too, but was harder to start.

Thanks!
kermdawg