Stick Welding Tips, Certification tests, machines, projects
fmagalhaes
    Sun Jul 10, 2016 8:41 pm

I am a rookie here. I have my welding textbook for my classes that I am starting in January. In the book, "The Procedure Handbook of Arc Welding, 14th Edition", it was mentioned about using inverters for Stick welding. I am learning to weld so I can build my retirement home a steel sailboat.

I was curious if you all out in weldingland had any luck welding stick with an inverter box and what I should be looking for.

Many thanks!!!
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

The goods news about inverter arc welders is that smaw only power sources are fairly low cost for good ones and have very helpful functions like "Dig" and "Hot Start".
Some types of electrodes like cellulosic and iron powder require higher Open Circuit Voltage that many entry level power sources can provide so this is what you should look for in your choice if you intend to use this power source for serious boat building welding in the future.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
sedanman
    Sun Jan 03, 2016 2:54 pm

You can get a used Lincoln Idealarc 250 ac/dc or Miller Dialarc 250 ac/dc for a few hundred dollars if you look around(l paid $100 for my ac/dc Idealarc 250) These are old bulletproof transformer machines that will live forever. That said, they are easily 375 pounds and draw a lot of amps. On the other hand you can get a 20 pound inverter that draws a lot less amps and is infinitely more portable for a few hunded more. I got an Esab 161 inverter for $509 shipped to my door. This machine puts out 160 amps and runs 6010 perfectly. It runs on 120 ot 240 volts. It will also do lift start tig. It's dc output only.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Almost all my stick work is off inverters. If you get a name brand inverter you won't be sorry. Thermal Arc , Lincoln , Milller , Everlast , HTP. All good brands. You will have a hard time finding one that's 200 amp capable you won't be happy with.