Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
BigD
    Thu Jan 07, 2016 1:56 pm

Yes it's another thin aluminum thread :(

I haven't been able to find many threads specific to my concerns so I figured I'd make a special one just for me.

I'm still a beginner but I've got about a year under the belt and I generally have no issues with aluminum but thin stuff is the bane of my existence. My machine can do anything settings wise and I've tried all kinds of things and just as I'm feeling like I found the secret recipe, the toilet gets flushed.

Specifically, I'm trying to build a rounded box out of 040 sheet so it's all outside corner, and I'm practicing on coupon scraps and I'm nowhere near ready to work on the real piece. I can seem to get tack welds ok with the trick to jam the heat in there quick and tight. And if I can get going, I suddenly look like I know what I'm doing. But whether or not the get going part is successful, seems to be a coin flip.

I've tried 100-400hz, 60/30/10 pulse, 30/30/30 pulse, each one has done good and bad things that I was able to work around no problem... if I could get a pudde going. But once I see those edges get shiny, I hold my breath. Sometimes they join and I can keep rocking, other times they blow apart and I'm sunk. Earlier on with inside corners I used to have a problem with not enough heat soon enough but I've tried sneaking up on these joints and so far not much luck with consistency.