Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
CE CLECKLER
    Mon Nov 09, 2015 2:45 am

I'm fairly new to the whole tig world, but really enjoying figuring it out....the problem I'm having is I have had 2 #8 gas lenses break right at the taper. Both times doing relatively short welds(1" X 1/8" angle steel). Diversion 180, foot pedal, 120 amps, 20 cfh. Also is there something I'm doing, or should be to keep the screen clean it has a little bit of bits on it. Thanks in advance. Courtney.
    Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:38 am

Hey Courtney.

Is it the gas lens or the alumina cup that is breaking? Sounds like the cup. (cups are generally pink and alumina, gas lenses are generally copper/brass)

Are you able to post a pic or two?

Kym
CE CLECKLER

yes the pink cup....i might be able to get a pic a this afternoon, but basically right where the pink body necks down from the big internally threaded part to the small outlet, its popping that end off
    Sat Aug 01, 2015 8:38 am

Okay, the cup then.

Is it breaking off clean at the shoulder or is it cracking? Seems quite unusual. I've been Tigging for over a year now and I'm yet to break a single cup.

Someone wiser than I will chime in soon er or later I'm sure.

Kym
    Tue Jul 19, 2016 6:52 am

MosquitoMoto wrote: Someone wiser than I will chime in sooner or later I'm sure.
Kym
Until that happens, I too would say that sounds very odd. If the cup is separating into multiple pieces and it wasn't dropped, I would suspect manufacturing defect. Especially since the same thing happened to 2 of them.

The junk getting in the screen is probably from welding on angle iron. If you don't mechanically clean the dark scale off the material before you weld it will cause porosity and spatter. Even just oily/dirty material will emit a lot of debris onto the screen.
-Jon

I learned how to weld at night, but not last night. (despite how my weld looks)