It is currently Mon Oct 23, 2017 2:04 am Advanced search

Tig noob and Syncrowave 250 resto project

Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process

Tig noob and Syncrowave 250 resto project

Postby MFleet » Tue Jan 03, 2017 9:49 am

This is my functional restoration progress and hopefully it will help someone later. I'm a total noob to tig so I will add some of the learning hurdles on that realm as well.

I've wanted a tig machine for ~20 years and found this one for sale locally. It has been whipped like a rented mule and it probably was in rental circulation at some point. I was only able to do a brief inspection which makes this purchase a high risk. It was from a brick and mortar business however and they did perform some basic testing. It came with absolutely zero auxiliaries to run it.

The Machine:
Miller Syncrowave 250DX 06/07 year model. This has an integrated cooler or "coolant on demand"
Attachments
IMG_20161006_160010665.jpg
IMG_20161006_160010665.jpg (35.2 KiB) Viewed 510 times
Miller 350P w/Python
Miller Syncrowave 250DX - Beaterwave project
Hypertherm Powermax65
Hobby class lathe and milling machine
MFleet

Re: Tig noob and Syncrowave 250 resto project

Postby exnailpounder » Tue Jan 03, 2017 4:25 pm

Welcome to the forum. I believe you can "call up" the arc times and hours on that machine. I had a Syncrowave 200 that I was able to do it on and my new machine does it as well. Might give you some insight as to what she was into. Check out your manual. Great welder but your electric bill is going rise :shock: . I got a new inverter because my electric was so high running a transformer machine but other than that it's a great machine.
Ifyoucantellmewhatthissaysiwillbuyyouabeer.
exnailpounder
Weldmonger

Postby Otto Nobedder » Tue Jan 03, 2017 7:08 pm