Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
centofanti
    Wed Jan 11, 2017 11:15 pm

Bear with me now. I am new at this tig stuff. I am a proficient mig person but as we all know anyone can do that. SO.. as the picture attached shows my cup broke and the collect is warped. keep in mind this is from the second use of this new machine i got ( Lincoln square wave 200). Some background of what i was doing? i was practicing on some mild steel angle stock bout 3/8 thick around 190 amps trying a little bit of walking the cup. Then this happened. Possible i bought some cheap cups? are there good and bad ones?
20170111_200425.jpeg
20170111_200425.jpeg (29.93 KiB) Viewed 1930 times
Dcstang67
    Thu Mar 31, 2016 11:16 am

First off. The torch that comes with that welder is only good for 150 amps and is only good for short bursts over that. By walking the cup at that amperage you were severely overheating the torch head

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G900A using Tapatalk
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am