Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Tommy2069
    Sun Jun 05, 2016 10:03 am

ok as i posted before i have this old miller dialarc in my shop. it tigs everything but aluminum perctly. it burns a 1/8 7018 so smooth its unreal but yet when i try tigging aluminum it's all over the place. the aluminum is clean so i know thats not the problem i tried the red and green tip gunsten with same results. what it is doing is it's very hard to get the puddle going infact it's impossible to get the puddle started. now if i try just running weld on flat plate it will work fine but as for starting a weld or keeping a wedl going on butted up plate it;s a no go. now i'm not a tig welder i know just enough to get by i'm pretty good with stainless and carbon steel but this aluminum is killing me.i have my own shop and i have been welding for over 30+ years. there is no foot pedal on the machine so all of the steel starts are scratch starts. the high frequency does great for starting on aluminum without haveing to touch the tungsten on the metal but it seems to fizz out. i have reversed the leads back and forth so many times it's crazy now i have a new alph tig coming but thats about 3 to 4 weeks away but i would still like to figure out what im doing wrong or if it's the machine.i can try to make a video of what it's doing if possible.
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

So scratch start tig rig eh. Can't do aluminum. It won't tig weld on AC current making you not able to tig aluminum.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
Tommy2069