Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
burnellmech
    Tue Mar 14, 2017 5:44 pm

Hello,
I am hoping some can answer a question regarding weld cracking. I am not an expert welder and will basically make brackets, shelving for my work vans. I have a 1/2" thick 4' by 3' carbon steel plate welding table, which I simply wanted to expand by adding (welding on) a 2' by 4' piece of 1/2" plate. Ia s mentioned am no expert but have welded up aluminum, stainless steel and regular (carbon) steel brackets etc...... with regards to the welding of my welding table some really strange things are happing, primarily cracking of the joint! I have beveled and ground both the existing table and the new steel plate, including cleaning of all mill scale. I have placed a 3/32" gap between the two plates and attempted to first tack the steel together in 8 spots. The strange thing is when applying heat, the 2'x4' section begins to almost start bubbling.. I haven't mentioned that I am doing this using a Lincoln squarewave 200 machine using DC TIG with 140 amps and have tried various methods such as just melting the two metals together without any filler (just to tack) and then 308 filler, er70S but for some unexplained reason,
I can tack these together and 15 minutes later I hear a bang and find all tacks have cracked! I am hoping someone here may know what is happening or may have had this happen to them.
As mentioned I have thourghly cleaned the steel and ground to bare metal, have increased / decreased amps, even changed bottle of argon.... I am using E-3 tungsten ground to a point but I have tried various different tungsten's I also went as far as to put the scanner on and attempted with 7018 where I ran six approximately 3 inch long tacks and 20 minutes later again a loud bang and every wild was cracked again any help would be much appreciated !
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm