Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
sledwrenchin
    Wed Mar 22, 2017 10:15 am

I have a titanium shaft that needs some build up and machining on the bearing journal. I do not know what grade of titanium the shaft is and was wondering what filler rod I would need to use.
Would the #12 cup sold in Jodys store be a good choice for proper shielding? I will only be welding a half inch at a time.

Also any recommendations on the set up would be great. I use a Dynasty 200 DX.
This is my first attempt at Titanium and will be doing a bit of practice on some small scrap pieces.

Thanks for any insight
Mike

Hi Mike and welcome to the forum
Is it possible to lookup the manufacturer of the shaft to find out the alloy? What is the diameter of the shaft? If it's a large enough diameter I would recommend using a rotator, and with proper shielding you could lay down a "X" number of beads before stopping to let it cool. As stated if the diameter is large enough the bead would cool quickly allowing you to weld several rounds before letting it cool down.
Richard
Website
sledwrenchin

I have made contact with the shop that originally machined the shaft. No answer yet.And not sure I will get one.
Its a small diameter Hex shaft 1.25 inch. 1 inch round where the welding will take place and maybe .5 wide.

sledwrenchin wrote:I have made contact with the shop that originally machined the shaft. No answer yet.And not sure I will get one.
Its a small diameter Hex shaft 1.25 inch. 1 inch round where the welding will take place and maybe .5 wide.
I assume one pass will be enough material to allow you to machine it, I would use a rotator and make one pass, let it cool then another.
Richard
Website
sledwrenchin

What filler rod would you recommend?

sledwrenchin wrote:What filler rod would you recommend?
I can't