Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Fly
  • Fly
    Thu Jan 24, 2013 10:07 am

I,m a retired Tool & Die maker. I kept some of my equipment for retirement & having fun just
making stuff. I,m no welder like some of you, but I can weld fairly good. Nothing like Jody for
sure. But I have been welding Tig, Mig & stick for many years off & on. Remember I,m a machinist
not a welder.

But I have searched the net on cheap China machines. I guess the price is why. But what inspired this
post is some guy on the net said this. He said a lot of the burn down on these machines was the routing
of wires in hot places, transformers & such. I,m no sparky by any terms, OK. But can any of you guys that know
electronics think these machines can be upgraded to give them more life?

Funny how Americans can up grade ANYTHING. I love Blue & Red believe on that. My mig & Tig are both MILLER.
I would NEVER sell ether of them unless I had to. But these new ones have gone past the old Transformer ones
I have. I really would like to be able to adjust frequency as you can not with the old transformers.

That is my only thing about the ole guy machines. But if you are not a good welder you can over come that.
I,m not that good. But it would be cool for us limited income guys for some way to make the china crap
last a little longer, than the report I keep hearing. :D

GOD I love this form & Jody for helping us with his knowledge. the net is so GREAT with forms as this.

Thank each & every one of you for helping this Ole fellow in my retirement. God bless you all.

Fly :D
    Sun Feb 12, 2017 1:08 am