Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
chustzy
    Mon Mar 27, 2017 4:36 pm

Im new to tig welding aliminum the other day i welded some aluminum and normaly i have trouble starting a puddle . I finaly used pure tungsten and imediatly got a nice puddle and welds came out awsome . The only problem i had was after i run my bead and moved to the next one i couldnt start and arc . What i fould was i had to go back to the grinder and grind the ball off . Than i couldn start up agin and back to a nice bead . Is this normal to have to keep taking the ball off every time i go to start a weld . I am using a lincoln square wave tig 200 set to about 130 . I gusse my question is am i useing the right tungsten for my machine ?
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm

On inverters you really shouldn't use pure tungsten. Try 2% lanthanated or 2% ceriated both work well on AC and DC on inverters and transformers.
A student now but really want to weld everyday. Want to learn everything about everything. Want to become a knower of all and master of none.
Instagram: @farmwelding
Nick
    Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:24 pm

The balling of the tungsten is actually considered a good thing when welding aluminum, It will keep forming no matter what you do, you shouldn't have a problem welding with it.

One thing I find helps on starting the arc sometimes is to just tap the metal with the tungsten while trying to start it with the high freq. almost like a scratch start.

Pure does suck, Whenever I use it in amps above 120, it tends to eventually drop the ball into the puddle, which really grinds my gears. I use E3 for everything now, lots of alternatives to pure.
if there's a welder, there's a way
Farmwelding
    Thu Mar 10, 2016 11:37 pm