Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
chrisharon
    Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:53 pm

Hi all, I'm trying to TIG braze steel to a cast/nodular iron housing using aluminum bronze like Jody did here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xQN_yz-4Hhg&t=186s

I V ground both my test piece of 3/8" steel strap (about 1-1.5" wide) and the cast, and preheated.

After about 50 medium strength hits on the unsupported edge of the steel with a 5lb hammer/sledge the steel came off with the aluminum bronze and a thin layer of the cast attached.

What I'm wondering is, is that normal/expected failure or am I overheating and crystalizing the cast? How much of a beating should it take to get failure?

This is my first time dealing with cast, and though it's not critical, I'd like to get it as right as I can.

Thanks in advance!

Chris
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

That would be a normal failure. It's possible that you could increase the strength a little more by slow cooling the cast in a sand bed or some similar method. But even then it's most likely that the cast will fail first in an impact test like you did.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

+1 you don't want go beating up on cast. It will break.

Sent using Tapatalk
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
Mike
    Mon Dec 06, 2010 1:09 pm

Chris, welcome to the forum.
M J Mauer Andover, Ohio

Linoln A/C 225
Everlast PA 200
chrisharon
    Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:53 pm

Thanks for the welcome, Mike.

And thanks to Josh and Coldman for your replies. Nice to know I'm at least on the right track, just need to practice a bit more.

Chris
    Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:51 am

Coldman wrote:+1 you don't want go beating up on cast. It will break.
^^^ this...