Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
clavius
    Wed Sep 21, 2016 9:32 pm

A big part of why I got a TIG machine (Lincoln SW200) for use in support of other hobbies and stuff that I do. One of those things would be the ability to build small custom sheetmetal enclosures for electronics and the like. I know a shear and brake are the best ways to manipulate sheetmetal stuff, but I don't have much access to those nor do I really want to get them to add to my shop for the fairly infrequent use I would have for them. I am a marginally experienced TIG welder at best, so this is also a way to get some practice on non-critical stuff. Besides that, welding stuff is just fun.

Anyhow, I am in the process of laying out a little rectangular aluminum box for a project. The material is 0.060" aluminum (6061, I think, don't recall but it is a known weldable flavor anyhow) I have seen videos of guys doing similar welds on outside corners with the parts clamped to an aluminum block. So I tried this on some scraps with pretty OK results. They were overlapped and fusion welded. Not perfect, but not utterly embarrassing either.

My question is this: Should the backer piece be a block that comes right to the inside corner of the two parts I'm trying to weld? Or would it be better if the block had say, a chamfer on the edge such that the two work pieces were not touching it at the joint? Or does it matter very much?
    Tue Apr 11, 2017 10:31 pm

clavius wrote:.... I have seen videos of guys doing similar welds on outside corners with the parts clamped to an aluminum block. So I tried this on some scraps with pretty OK results. They were overlapped and fusion welded.....