Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
bebbetufs
    Thu Jul 13, 2017 2:07 pm

Hello board.
I've been lurching here for a while and figured I need to register so I can possibly get som help from your collective knowledge. I am a hobby welder who mostly does car related work.

Some years back something caused my left wrist to become partially paralysed. It is not a big hinderance in the shop, but it has turned out to be a big problem when Tig welding. I can barely control the filler rod, and my wrist forces me to hold my hand and the work piece at a very bad angle. This quickly becomes painful and quickly wears me out completely and makes it a struggle.

Are there any techniques or tools which may let me only use my good hand? Any tips and tricks are greatly appreciated.

Thank you.
    Mon Nov 04, 2013 7:51 am

I think there's a few options out there...

One is to look in the 3D printing community for filler wire holders that you can perhaps more easily hold in your hand at and angle you find comfortable or experiment yourself with making holders that work for you. Kinda dis-connecting the specific hand/wrist orientation normally needed for the filler hand from the process of keeping a filler rod near the puddle.

Can likely be done pretty cheaply but it will be a bit of a development/testing process and some may not work at all initially.

You can go all 'high tech' on it too and look more into commercial wire-feeder setups for TIG like for instance:

https://www.arc-zone.com/Semi-Auto-TIG-Wire-Feeder

http://www.tiptigusa.com/wp-content/upl ... 00100C.pdf

Definitely in the 'reassuringly expensive' area and may be total overkill for your use, but that's a call only you can make.