Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
jonathan joseph
    Mon Dec 14, 2009 2:25 pm

Hi!
This is my first post here so bear with me! I'm a boat builder and amateur welder. I do a lot of welding for my own projects and some stuff for friends. I'm working towards being good enough to charge for it one of these days, but not yet! I mostly weld stick and am resonably proficient with mig.

I've never tig'ed but have been around it a bit while others welded.

Here's my question, I have a Lincoln Ranger 250 GXT and I'm wondering if it's possible to use it to tig without buying the high freq box. Some where here on the site Jody mentions the possibility of scratch start tigging with any dc machine. He says more info to come, but I need it NOW! Just kidding, but I've searched the internet looking for info and all I can find are some English web sites that say the same sort of thing but no info on what you need to do this.

I assume at the very least one would need a tig torch with a integral gas valve, argon hose, and gas bottle. The torch will have to have the correct connectors to hook up to my machine. Or am I missing some really important principle of tig? Don't you just need the HF to start the arc without touching? Shouldn't my machine produce the correct current/voltage to the torch? What are these necessary currents/voltages? What else? My machine has both CC/CV settings. I can't find any info on the Lincoln site other than to buy their high frequency "module" which is like $1000. I'd like to get into tig but can't spend the money right now. If I could just get started cheap (maybe even get a used torch and stuff on ebay?) that would be great.

Thanks for any help, I'm learning fast but there's so much to learn!

By the way awesome site, thanks for doing all the work!

Jonathan
jonathan joseph