Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Mojo88
    Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:28 pm

I have some stainless steel flex couplers, which I want to weld into my exhaust system (also stainless steel). The exhaust pipes are .060" wall thickness, while the metal on the flex couplers is much thinner. It looks to me that as soon as I start trying to TIG these together, I will just blow away the metal on the coupler.

I have included some pics below, with some numbers (like a little numbering system, for reference sake), so maybe someone can tell me where to focus the heat? Should I be mainly heating on #4 (the pipe) with the goal of attaching to #3 only? Or should I be trying to get all four numbers fused together? It seems like a daunting task and I am a relative noob at TIG.

Any help would be appreciated. Thanks very much!

Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

:lol:

No practice part available + relative TIG newb + unsuitable actual part + crappy fit-up/gaps = disaster waiting to happen.

Sorry, but while it can be done, I would avoid the headache if I were you. All of those little wires will melt away regardless of where you focus the heat if you don't move them out of the way.

But naturally I've been there too, so here goes. Pull the wire braid back at least 1" (meaning you should also pull up/off that slip ring over it). You will have to get creative for this so it doesn't unravel. Build up the outer circumference of the plain exhaust tube ~1/16" to take up the slack from that grand canyon sized gap (Good luck with this if you don't have a pulser). Then weld the inner flex tube to the exhaust tube as a lap joint. Once that is taken care of, then let the wire braid slip over back in place, along with the slip ring. I can't "feel" the tolerances so hopefully they allow for it.

or just get it in this style:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Vibrant-Perform ... bb&vxp=mtr