Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Efgillepskii
    Sun Oct 15, 2017 4:14 am

Hi everyone ,
Looking for some advice in my aluminum venture.
Just got a 2017 ahp 200 and I love it so far.

Been doing some flat and 2F joints and I've noticed my puddles aren't super smooth. They look wavy maybe. I've reduced the flow to 15 from 20 but I haven't seen much improvement.
I'm not very experienced with aluminum. It's been 10 years since I've even touched it in high school.

I'll be doing little intercooler piping projects at home and some chromoly cages maybe some day.

Here they are.
60-120 amps
Act balance all the way down
Frequency I think 120
1/16 blue tip2% lanthinated ans 1/16 4043

Is it still too much gas ? Electrode is probably 1/8 to 1/4 inch ouch of the cup
Tried size 5 and 7'cup. It's all new to me
The videos have been amazing from this site. So I thought I'd ask
Thanks in advance.
Attachments
IMG_0911.JPG
IMG_0911.JPG (34.75 KiB) Viewed 802 times
IMG_0878.JPG
IMG_0878.JPG (39.86 KiB) Viewed 802 times
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

To me, your beads show a simple issue of inconsistent filler feed. Aluminum is extremely finicky about the amount of rod dipped and your travel speed. Slight variations show up a great deal more than steel wire. Nature of the beast really.

Aluminum is rather different too in that the base metal, once hot, really soaks up a ton of heat requiring you to reduce the input heat to maintain the amount of “”soaking in” of the filler. In the bottom picture, you’ll notice the width of your bead is more narrow at the start. That’s down to the base metal not being as hot. Once hot, your puddle bleeds much wider. So, a trick I use to teach/train myself on consistency is: