Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Mojo88
    Mon Sep 25, 2017 8:28 pm

TIG noob here... been practicing about a month so far. Slowly getting the hang of it. TIG is much trickier than I thought it would be, haha. My focus is on stainless steel exhaust pipes.

Sometimes my practice goes smoothly, but often times I am getting spattering and popping and I end up with disastrous spots in the welds, as shown in pic below, bad areas circled in red. When I actually start doing this for real (on my car), I plan on purging, I have a dual flowmeter ready to use. But I am NOT purging on these practice parts. Am I getting the spattering and popping because of no purging????

Thanks for any help or tips, Dave F.

cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

That is symptomatic of contamination on the inside of the tubing being pulled out due to the heat. You should always clean the inside 1/2" or so to bare shiny metal whenever you're welding up tubing. Purging will help with preventing any contamination (sugaring) on the inside. I hope you practicing on new, clean tubing? If not, expect lots of ugly welds going forward.
Mojo88

cj737 wrote:That is symptomatic of contamination on the inside of the tubing being pulled out due to the heat. You should always clean the inside 1/2" or so to bare shiny metal whenever you're welding up tubing. Purging will help with preventing any contamination (sugaring) on the inside. I hope you practicing on new, clean tubing? If not, expect lots of ugly welds going forward.
Ahh, OK, thanks! That makes sense. I bought a bunch of 'practice' pipe pieces from local custom exhaust shop, and they do have lots of dust and dirt on them.

When I do this for real, I will clean as you suggest. For the inside, is acetone wipe sufficient, or does pipe need light scuff with Scotchbrite or sandpaper or wire brush????

Thanks again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! ;)